Accounting and Finance

Keshab Shrestha, Prof.
Discipline Head,
Accounting and Finance

Accounting and Finance is the largest department in the School of Business. The department is committed to quality teaching and research. It has been producing graduates who are competent, skilled and sought after by prospective employers. It offers the prestigious Bachelor of Business and Commerce degree with the option of majoring either in Accounting or Banking and Finance. Students who do exceptionally well in their Bachelor degree have the option of completing the degree at Honours level.

Currently the department has in excess of 500 students served by a team of qualified academic staff. Most of the academics have industrial experience especially in the areas of Auditing, Manufacturing, Finance and Banking. The department conducts research in the following areas:

  • Islamic Banking
  • Social and Islamic Accounting
  • Accounting for Websites
  • Money Laundering and Informal Banking
  • Earning Management, Policy Choice and Voluntary Disclosure
  • Productivity of Commercial Banks
  • Electronic Banking
  • Corporate Governance and Financial Deepening

Numerous books and journal articles have been published by staff of the department.

Discipline Head Keshab Shrestha, Prof
Master, (US); PhD, (US)
Email: keshab.shrestha@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 55146000 ext: 46389 (DID: 5514 6389)
Coordinators Ravichandran K.Subramaniam, Dr
MBA in Accounting (U.Malaya); PhD in Finance (U.Malaya)
Email: ravichandran.subramaniam@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 55146000 ext: 45684 (DID : 5514 5684)
Siew Eu-Gene, Dr
B.Comm (Adelaide), MBusSys (Monash), PhD (Monash)
Email: siew.eu-gene@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 5514 6000 Ext: 44450 (DID: 5514 4450)
 Jothee Sinnakkannu, Assoc Prof
B.BA (Hons) (UKM); MBA (UPM); PhD, Finance (UPM)
Email: jothee.sinnakkannu@monash.edu
Phone Extention: (+603) 55146000(+603) 55146000 ext: 46297 (DID: 5514 6297)
 Ananda Rao Samudhram, Dr
B.Sc (Hons) (UM); M.Acc. (Western Illinois); MIA; CPA (USA); PhD (Monash)
Email: ananda.samudham@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 55146000 ext. 46185 (DID: 5514 6185)
 Dinh Phan, Dr
B. Com (Hons) (Deakin) ; PhD (Deakin)
Email: dinh.phan@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 55146000 ext. 46370 (DID: 5514 6370)
 Foo Yee Boon, Dr
B.Mgmt (Hons) (USM); M.Sc Accounting & Finance (De Montfort); PhD (MMU); GCHE (Monash): FCCA
Email: foo.yee.boon@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 5514 6000 ext. 46378 (DID: 5514 6378)
 Lee Mei Yee, Dr
B.Acc(Hons)(Malaya); Pg Dip (BusCom) (Monash); PhD (Monash) CA(M); CPA(M)
Email: lee.mei.yee@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 5514 6000 ext. 44935 ( DID: 5514 4935)
 Liang Zhang, Dr
PhD, (University of Hawaii)
Email: liang.zhang@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 55146000 ext. 44930 (DID: 5514 4930)
 Mohammed Sharaf Mohsen Shaiban, Dr
B. Acc (University of Sana'a); MBA/ Accounting, MIS (Denver Univ. /USA); PhD, Accounting (UM)
Email: mohammed.shaiban@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 55146000 ext. 44906 (DID: 5514 4906)
 Norita Mohd Nasir, Dr
B. Acct. (Hons) (UUM); MA Accounting & Fin Management (University of Essex); Chartered Accountant (MIA); CPA (Australia) ; PhD (Monash University)
Email: norita.nasir@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 55146000 ext. 46368 (DID: 5514 6368)
 Pak Mei Sen, Dr
B. Sc (Hons) Applied Accounting (Oxford Brookes); M.Sc (Finance) Leiscester University, UK; ACCA graduate
Email: pak.mei.sen@monash.edu
Phone Extension: 0(+603) 55146000 ext. 46295 (DID: 5514 6295)
 Puspavathy Rassiah, Dr
MBA (Edith Cowan University); Pg Dip (BusCom) (Monash)
Email: puspavathy.rassiah@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 5514 6000 ext. 45891 ( DID: 5514 5891)
 Sa'adiah Munir, Dr
B.Acc (UM); M.Sc Accounting & Finance (Univ. of Birmingham, UK); DBA (UKM)
Email: saadiah.munir@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 55146000 ext: 45843 (DID : 5514 5843)
 Sockalingam R. Ramasamy, Dr
B.A Economics (Hons) (UM); MBA (UPM); PhD (MMU)
Email: r.sockalingam@monash.edu
Phone Extention: (+603) 55146000 ext: 44931 (DID: 5514 4931)
 Tee Chwee Ming, Dr
B. Economics (UKM); MSc. (Loughborugh); MIB (University of Sydney); PhD (Monash)
Email: tee.chwee.ming@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 5514 6000 ext. 45897 ( DID: 5514 5897)
 Teh Chee Ghee, Dr
B.Acctg (Hons); MBA; PhD (UM); CA(M); CPA(M); FCCA (UK); FCTIM
Email: teh.chee.ghee@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 5514 6000 ext. 45892 (DID: 5514 5892)
 Yessy Peranginangin, Dr
B. Management (Gadjah Mada); Pg Dip Finance (University of Melbourne); Master of Commerce (Finance) (University of Melbourne); PhD (University of Adelaide)
Email: yessy.arnold@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 5514 6000 ext. 45868 (DID: 5514 5868)
 Vuong Thao Tran, Dr
B. Banking (Danang University of Economics); Master of International Finance (Deakin); PhD (Deakin)
Email: tran.vuongthao@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 5514 6000 ext. 45886 (DID: 5514 5886)
 Aniza Zainol
B.Acc. (Hons) (UUM), MSc. Acct & Fin (East Anglia)
Email: aniza.zainol@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 55146000 ext. 46369 (DID: 5514 6369)
 Jeyanthi Selvarajah
ACCA (UK); M.Sc. Finance (UPM)
Email: jeyanthi.selvarajah@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 55146000 ext. 45844 (DID: 5514 5844)
 Shymala Dhoraisingam Samuel
MBA (Keele); MBA (Acctg) (Queensland); FCCA (UK); Chartered Accountant (MIA)
Email: shyamala.dhoraisingam@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 5514 6000 ext. 45845 ( DID: 5514 5845)