Economics

Grace Lee, Associate Professor
Head of Department,
Economics

Economics is one of the six departments in the School of Business.

Our teaching is based on both theoretical and application perspectives to provide our students with a broad understanding of the study of Economics in a rapidly changing world.

Our research strengths are in the areas of :-

  • Development Economics in East Asia
  • Export Demand
  • Industrialisation
  • International Trade Finance
  • Macroeconomics
  • Monetary Integration
  • Productivity and Technical Change
Head of DepartmentGrace Lee Hooi Yean, Associate Professor
B.A, Economics; M.A, Economics (MUN); PhD, Economics (UPM)
Email: grace.lee@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 44907 (DID: 5514 4907).
CoordinatorAudreySiah Kim Lan (Audrey), Dr
B.A, Economics (Hons), M.A. Economics, PhD, Economics (UPM)
Email: audrey.siah@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 45690 (DID: 5514 5690)
Eduard J. Bomhoff, Professor
BSc. Mathematics (Leyden), MSc (Leyden), PhD (cum laude) (NSE)
Email: eduard.bomhoff@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 45801 (DID: 5514 5801)
Gamini Herath, Professor
B.Sc (Ceylon), M.Ag Dev Ec. (ANU,Canberra), Ph.D ( New England), GCHE (Deakin)
E-mail: gamini.herath@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 55148000 ext: 46282 (DID : +803 5514 6282)
Poon Wai Ching, Associate Professor
B.A, Education (Hons) (USM), M.Ec (UM), PhD, Economics (UPM)
Email: poon.wai.ching@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 44908 (DID: 5514 4908)
Ashutosh Sarker, Dr
M.Ag Ec. (Niigata University); PhD, Ag Ec. (Niigata University)
Email: ashutosh.sarker@monash.edu.my
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 46277 (DID: 5514 6277)
Koh Geok May (Sharon),Dr
BEcons (UM); M. Business (Charles Sturt); PhD (Monash)
Email: koh.geokmay@monash.edu.my
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 44988 (DID: 5514 4988)
 Lilian Chan Mei Li, Dr
BEcons (University of London ); M. Economics(University of East Anglia); PhD (UPM)
Email: lilian.chan@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 800 Ext: 44998 (DID: 5514 4998)
 Nourin Shabnam, Dr
BSS (Khulna University); M.Science (Asian Institute of Technology); PhD (Deakin)
Email: nourin.shabnam@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 44404 (DID: 5514 4404)
 Rahman Md Habibur, Dr
PhD (Deakin)
Email: habibur.rahman@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 800 Ext: 46172 (DID: 5514 6172)