Economics

Grace Lee, Assoc Prof
Discipline Head,
Economics

Economics is one of the six departments in the School of Business.

Our teaching is based on both theoretical and application perspectives to provide our students with a broad understanding of the study of Economics in a rapidly changing world.

Our research strengths are in the areas of :-

  • Development Economics in East Asia
  • Export Demand
  • Industrialisation
  • International Trade Finance
  • Macroeconomics
  • Monetary Integration
  • Productivity and Technical Change
Discipline HeadGrace Lee Hooi Yean, Assoc Prof
B.A, Economics; M.A, Economics (MUN); PhD, Economics (UPM)
Email: grace.lee@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 44907 (DID: 5514 4907) .
CoordinatorAudreySiah Kim Lan (Audrey), Dr
B.A, Economics (Hons), M.A. Economics, PhD, Economics (UPM)
Email: audrey.siah@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 45690 (DID: 5514 5690) .
AdjunctGareth David Leeves, Assoc Prof
B.Sc (Econ) (Hons) (Leicester, UK), M.Sc (Bath, UK), PhD (UNSW, Australia), Cert ED (HE) (Leicester, UK)
E-mail: gareth.leeves@monash.edu
Eduard J. Bomhoff, Prof
BSc. Mathematics (Leyden), MSc (Leyden), PhD (cum laude) (NSE)
Email: eduard.bomhoff@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 45801 (DID: 5514 5801)
Gamini Herath, Prof
B.Sc (Ceylon), M.Ag Dev Ec. (ANU,Canberra), Ph.D ( New England), GCHE (Deakin)
E-mail: gamini.herath@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 55148000 ext: 46282 (DID : +803 5514 6282)
Poon Wai Ching, Assoc Prof
B.A, Education (Hons) (USM), M.Ec (UM), PhD, Economics (UPM)
Email: poon.wai.ching@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 44908 (DID: 5514 4908)
Ashutosh Sarker, Dr
M.Ag Ec. (Niigata University); PhD, Ag Ec. (Niigata University)
Email: ashutosh.sarker@monash.edu.my
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 46277 (DID: 5514 6277)
Koh Geok May (Sharon),Dr
BEcons (UM); M. Business (Charles Sturt); PhD (Monash)
Email: koh.geokmay@monash.edu.my
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 8000 Ext: 44988 (DID: 5514 4988)
  Lilian Chan Mei Li, Dr
Email: lilian.chan@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 800 Ext: 44998 (DID: 5514 4998)
 Rahman Md Habibur, Dr
PhD (Deakin)
Email: habibur.rahman@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 800 Ext: 46172 (DID: 5514 6172)