Abbvie Young Leaders Scholarship 2016

Bright Pharmacy students win cash prize and coveted internship program with Abbvie.

An internship program enables the acceleration of your future career path. The Abbvie Young Leaders Scholarship program allows students to work alongside, learn from, and exchange ideas with some of the brightest minds in the industry.

In her welcome address, Professor Helen Bartlett, President and Pro Vice-Chancellor of Monash University Malaysia said: “It feels like Abbvie and Monash are now old friends. Abbvie is an amazing global organisation, focused on building products and treatments to improve the lives of people. These  goals are very much aligned with Monash Malaysia and what we are trying to do by producing graduates who are global citizens, and who can be distinguished professionals wherever they choose to work.”

Prof Bartlett also addressed the students by saying that they (Monashians) have the opportunity to demonstrate their skills and leadership qualities to industries (Industry Day) as excellence is more than just academic results.

From left: Mupindra Singh, Chin Siew Teng and A/Prof Ong Chin Eng

The top 3 final year Bachelor of Pharmacy students, were invited to participate in the Abbvie Young Leaders Scholarship competition. This involved giving a 15-minute presentation on their topic of interest.

Mupindra Singh, Country Manager, AbbVie Sdn Bhd, talked about the importance of translating what has been learned in the classroom into the working world: “It is not about the awards you win. It is not what you have studied. It is how and where you apply what you have studied that is going to  matter. If not, what is learned would be useless.”

Three judges from the School of Pharmacy, Cheong Wing Loong, Dr Thet Thet Htar and Dr Lee Yiu Wah, asked the presenters questions that tested the credibility of their presentations.

Recognising her scholastic achievement and impressive presentation, final year student, Chin Siew Teng, was awarded the RM2000 cash prize, and a coveted month-long internship program at Abbvie Sdn Bhd. Runner-up Heng Wei Shan and second runner-up Neo Ming Shin also won an internship with the pharmaceutical  company and were each awarded with RM500 and RM300 cash prize respectively.

Eight other Pharmacy students were given awards for their outstanding academic performances and were applauded for their well deserved achievements. Tammy Choo was recognised as the winner of the Monash Malaysia Pharmacy Alumni (MMPA) Network Logo Competition.

“I would like to express my heartfelt gratitude to Abbvie for their very generous sponsorship of the scholarship and internship program. Looking forward, the School of Pharmacy will continue to collaborate with our industry partners and I hope Abbvie will continue to support the education and  research endeavours in our school in the coming years,” said A/Prof Ong Chin Eng, Interim Head of School of Pharmacy, Monash Malaysia.