JCSMHS educators recognised

Dr Satoshi Ogawa and Dr Priyia Pusparajah were both awarded during 30th Scientific Meeting of Malaysian Society of Pharmacology and Physiology (MSPP) 2016.

During the recent 30th Scientific Meeting of Malaysian Society of Pharmacology and Physiology (MSPP) 2016, Dr Satoshi Ogawa and Dr Priyia Pusparajah from the Jeffrey Cheah School of Medicine and Health Sciences were both awarded the MSPP Young Investigator Award 2016 and the MSPP Teacher's Prize in Physiology respectively.

The MSPP Teacher’s Prize in Physiology was introduced this year with the aim of recovering, generating and stimulating interest in the teaching of the subject. The inaugural event was held in University Malaya on 9 January 2016, where contestants from six participating medical schools were given the task of delivering a lecture on ‘renal counter current mechanism’ in a clear and innovative manner within 15 minutes.

“This award has given me the confidence that I am on the right track with my teaching methods and has spurred me to continue to try to develop new and innovative ways to teach and generate interest in students,” said Dr Priyia, who participated in the event with the aim of exchanging ideas and to learn from other medical school academics.

When asked about her teaching methods, Dr Priyia shared: “To make it relevant to students, I try to link as much of the function of the various systems to everyday situations. Sometimes, I also include elements from popular culture (e.g books and movies) which link back to the concepts being discussed. These tend to stimulate interest and make the subject matter more meaningful and interesting”.

Dr Ogawa was among the three shortlisted candidates chosen for the MSPP Young Investigator Award 2016. Apart from a 20-minute presentation, candidates were also evaluated based on their number of publications and quality, and number of citations of published articles.

“This award encourages me to continue my research with passion and confidence. In addition, I am very happy to know that my research findings are recognised by other researchers and academicians in the field of physiology and pharmacology,” stated Dr Ogawa.

Dr Ogawa also expressed his gratitude to be recognised as the first ever recipient of the award: “This award gives me an opportunity to share my research activities with participants from local institutions, which would be beneficial for me to develop research network as well as future collaborations”.

Professor Ishwar Parhar, Jeffrey Cheah School of Medicine and Health Sciences’ Head of Neuroscience was invited as one of the Plenary speakers during the conference.

The MSPP 2016 was held from 15 to 16th August 2016 at Hotel Putrajaya Shangri-La, Malaysia and the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Universiti Putra Malaysia was given the privilege to host the scientific meeting this year. The 30th Scientific Meeting of MSPP 2016 provided a unique platform for discussion on latest research findings and exchange of experiences among the academicians, scientists, researchers, postgraduate students in medical and health sciences, particularly Pharmacology and Physiology.