Scholarships Awards Ceremony recognises excellent students

Hard work begets success. On 17 May 2017, 157 deserving students were awarded scholarships for their academic achievements at the recent Scholarships Award Ceremony. Since 2014, the university has awarded a total of RM90 million to 5,520 deserving students.

“Tonight is very much about celebrating excellence. Congratulations to all students. It’s worth reflecting that you (students) are recognised amongst the top cohort of our ongoing and new students here at Monash University. This means that you’re top in of one of the world’s leading universities. It’s really worth pausing and reflecting on what a significant achievement that is,” said  Professor Andrew Walker, President and Pro VIce-Chancellor (Interim) at Monash Malaysia.

Award recipients were from all seven schools - School of Arts and Social Sciences, School of Business, School of Engineering, School of Information Technology, School of Pharmacy, School of Science and the Jeffrey Cheah School of Medicine and Health Sciences.

One of the highlights of the ceremony was when two former scholarship recipients, second year mechanical engineering student, Avinash Menon, and PhD student, Alvin Lee, both from the School of Engineering, provided insights into student life as well as how they are coping.

“I have had the opportunity to take part in numerous volunteering programs such as building homes for the homeless and also helping out in a soup kitchen. It gives me great pleasure to be able to give back to the society and help out others who are in need,” Menon enthusiastically shared. He also mentioned how he was grateful for the opportunity to pursue his degree at Monash, and encouraged students to not let financial constraints stop them from pursuing their dreams.

Echoing similar sentiments, Lee who is also the current president of the Monash University Postgraduate Association said, “This scholarship has enabled me to fully focus on my research without any financial pressure, and allowed me to get involved in academic and industry networking events such as the 3 minute thesis competition and the ITEX international exhibition last week.

There were six scholarship categories - Jeffrey Cheah Foundation - Monash Equity Scholarship, Monash High Achiever Awards (for continuing students), Monash High Achiever Awards (for new students), Graduate Research Pathway Scholarship, Monash Pharmacy Excellence Scholarship, and the Graduate Research Merit Scholarship.