Recognitions and awards


The Medical Anatomy and Pathology E-Learning Laboratory Lab's educational innovations have been recognised by medical and academic fraternities through publications in peer-reviewed scientific publications, and presentations at medical education and education technology conferences locally as well as internationally. Related educational researches have also received funding from government bodies (such as the ERGS research grant from the Ministry of Higher Education Malaysia), as well as from industry partnership for pilot projects in developing smart practical learning labs.

The innovative design of the Lab – a state of-the-art learning environment and its learning strategies have been regarded as an exemplary teaching and learning facility at the campus, as well as at university level. The Lab was visited by distinguished figures including Dato' Sri Najib Tun Razak, the then Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia (in 2007), Professor David de Kretserthe, Governor of Victoria, Australia (in 2008) and Dato' Sri Liow Tiong Lai, the then Malaysian Minister of Health (in 2010). The Lab is also opened to the public during the campus’ Open Day.


IMU-Ron Harden Innovation in Medical Education Award (2015)→ Related articles: Monash’s innovations in medical education wins IMU-RHIME award

From left: Professor Ron Harden presents the IMU-RHIME award
rolling trophy to Dr Arkendu Sen and Associate Professor Lakshmi

Dean’s Award for Education (Innovation in Teaching) (2014)
– awarded by Faculty of Medicine, Monash University Australia.

Dr Arkendu Sen (left) received the Dean's Awards certificate
from Monash University’s Vice-Provost (Learning and Teaching)
Professor Darrell Evans (second from right).

Pro Vice Chancellor’s Award for Education – Open category (2014)
– awarded by Monash University Malaysia.
Award winner: Dr Arkendu Sen (Citation: For Introducing an Innovative Smart Lab for Next Generation Students Inspiring Active Learning Through Multi-Touch Table Technology and Collaborative Software Solutions – A Showcase for School of Medicine and Monash Malaysia)

Dr Arkendu Sen (third from left) at the PVC Awards 2014
presentation ceremony.

OLT Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning (2012)
– awarded by the Australian Government Office for Learning & Teaching (OLT). Title: For translating Aristotle’s philosophy that “teaching is the highest form of understanding” into practice through novel technology-enhanced collaborative learning and peer teaching strategies in anatomy.

Associate Professor Dr. Lakshmi Selvaratnam receiving the
award certificate at the ceremony held in Melbourne.

Related articles:-

IMU Ron Harden Innovation in Medical Education Award (2011)

Dr Arkendu Sen with the IMU-RHIME Award trophy.

Vice Chancellor’s Citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Engagement (2010)
– awarded by Monash University Australia.

Dean’s Award for Excellence In Teaching: Innovations in Teaching (2010)
– awarded by Faculty of Medicine, Monash University Australia.

Pro Vice Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence (2008, 2009, 2011)
– awarded by Monash University Malaysia.