Heartiest congratulations to Associate Professor Dr Nor'azim

23 April 2018

Jeffrey Cheah School of Medicine and Health Sciences is proud to celebrate our latest achievement -- the prestigious 2017 Mollie Holman Doctoral Medal that has been awarded to our Deputy Head of Clinical School (Research) Associate Professor Dr Nor’azim Mohd Yunos for the best PhD thesis in Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences (FMNHS).

The Mollie Holman Medal was established in 1998 and is named after the late pioneering physiologist, Emeritus Professor Mollie Holman AO, in honour of her significant contributions to science and education.  A pioneer in her field, Professor Holman's memory is preserved in these medals struck in her honour.

Through this medal, the University seeks to acknowledge and reward its doctoral candidates for both the quality of their thesis and their research.  The medals are among the highest academic honours the University bestows, and mark the recipients as researchers of the highest order.  Each year, a maximum of ten medals are awarded to doctoral students, normally one from each faculty, who have fulfilled their degree requirements and presented their faculty's best thesis of the year.

For year 2017, AP Dr Nor’azim Mohd Yunos has done JCSMHS proud by being one of the two recipients in FMNHS for the Mollie Holman award.  This achievement is not only remarkable to Dr Nor’azim on a personal level but also elevates the School’s profile and reinforces that JCSMHS conducts research of international standards.

(From left to right) A/P Dr Nor’azim with his Joint Principal Supervisor Professor Anuar Zaini Md Zain
and A/P Dr Nor’azim's wife's A/P Dr Rafidah Atan, who also graduated with a PhD at the same graduation.

Brief details on Dr Nor’azim’s PhD



  • Joint Principal Supervisor - Professor Anuar Zaini Md Zain
  • Joint Supervisor - Professor Rinaldo Bellomo
  • Associate Supervisor - Professor Michael Bailey

Thesis by publication including 2 publications in the prestigious Journal of the American Medical Association which has a Q1 ranking and IF of 44.405 currently.

  • Yunos NM, Bellomo R, Hegarty C, Story D, Ho L, Bailey M. Association between a chloride-liberal vs. chloride-restrictive intravenous fluid administration strategy and kidney injury in critically ill adults. JAMA 2012; 308 (15):1566-1572
  • Yunos NM, Bellomo R. Letter: Chloride-restrictive fluid administration and incidence of acute kidney injury. JAMA 2013;309 (6):543-544
    And publications in 4 other journals.

Dr Nor’azim’s achievement comes close on the heels of Dr Victoria Tan’s BMedSc(Honours) Award.  Dr Tan was recognised for her outstanding achievement of being the top student in the BMedSc (Hons), across all cohorts, both in Monash University Malaysia and Monash University Australia.  She was first among 113 students that completed BMedSc(Hons) in 2017.