2015 HDR Publication Award

Dr Kuang sharing the background on HDR program development.Almost all researchers have one common goal - to have their findings published in reputable journals. The accomplishment of publishing in high-impact journals not only benefits the researcher, but their peers as well.

Realising the importance and quality of research among its research students, the School of Engineering at Monash Malaysia awarded those who successfully published their research in reputable journals at the recent 2015 Higher Degree by Research (HDR) Publication Award Ceremony. The HDR Publication Award was created to raise the quality of HDR students through recognition and excellence.

Thirty-eight HDR students’ publications were recognised and applauded during the ceremony. Each recipient received a letter of recognition signed by the Head of School, Professor Anthony Guo. “Publishing a paper in high-impact journals signifies that your paper is of a world-class standard,” said Dr Kuang Ye Chow, Associate Head of School (Research Training), School of Engineering. He also gave a brief background on the HDR program development.

Assoc. Prof Chai addresses HDR students in his speech.Assoc. Prof Chai addresses HDR students in his speech.

“This event is held to encourage everyone to publish. As a student, it is important that you get published in quality journals,” said the Deputy Head of School (Research), Associate Professor Chai Siang Piao.

According to Prof Chai, 73% of the papers published between January and June this year fell under the Q1 category, and 21% fell under the Q2 category. (Q1 denotes the top 25% of the Impact Factor distribution and Q2 for middle-high position, between top 50% and top 25%).

It is quite apparent that through the initiatives put in place to support HDR students, the School of Engineering is indeed committed in developing its HDR program as the best in the region.

List of awardees

Gold Award

Ong Wee Jun

Supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Chai Siang Piao

Research Papers:

  1. (Q1) Self-assembly of nitrogen-doped TiO2 with exposed {001} facets on a graphene scaffold as photo-active hybrid nanostructures for reduction of carbon dioxide to methane in Nano Research, Vol 7, Page: 1528-1547
  2. (Q1) Heterojunction engineering of graphitic carbon nitride ( g-C3N4) via Pt loading with improved daylight-induced photocatalytic reduction of carbon dioxide to methane in Dalton Transaction, Vol 44, Page: 1249-1257
  3. (Q1) Graphene oxide as a structure-directing agent for the two-dimensional interface engineering of sandwich-like graphene-g-C3N4 hybrid nanostructures with enhanced visible-light photoreduction of CO2 to methane in Chemical Communications, Vol 51, Page: 858-861
  4. (Q1) Synergistic effect of graphene as a co-catalyst for enhanced daylight-induced photocatalytic activity of Zn0.5Cd0.5S synthesized via an improved one-pot co-precipitation-hydrothermal strategy in RSC Advances, Vol 4, Page: 59676-59685
  5. (Q1) Surface charge modification via protonation of graphitic carbon nitride (g-C3N4) for electrostatic self-assembly construction of 2D/2D reduced graphene oxide (rGO)/g-C3N4 nanostructures toward enhanced photocatalytic reduction of carbon dioxide to methane in Nano Energy, Vol 13, Page: 757–770
  6. (Q1) Enhanced Daylight-Induced Photocatalytic Activity of Solvent Exfoliated Graphene (SEG)/ZnO Hybrid Nanocomposites toward Degradation of Reactive Black 5 in Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research, Vol 53, Page: 17333-17344

Silver Award

  1. Yeo Zee Ying
  2. Wennie Subramonian
  3. J. Mukund Nilakantan
  4. Micky Lee Fu Xiang
  5. Ting Tiew Wei
  6. Teh Chee Yang
  7. Tong Wei Li
  8. Tan Lling Lling
  9. Zhu Tao
  10. Gui Meei Mei
  11. Vahdat Vahedi Langeroudi
  12. Rangika Thilan De Silva

Bronze Award

  1. Ang Kar Man
  2. Lee Jun Yang
  3. Pretty Mori Budiman
  4. Ajay Achath Mohanan
  5. Lee Siu Hoong
  6. Tee Lee Hong
  7. Ramalakshmi Subbarayalu
  8. Lim Su Lin
  9. Ng Boon Thiam
  10. Gan Jie Sheng
  11. Choy Sook Yan
  12. Ong Wan Ding
  13. Leong Yik Teeng
  14. Katrina Shak Pui Yee
  15. Phuan Yi Wen
  16. Christine Chiew Shu Ching
  17. Voo Wan Ping
  18. Fahad Bin Zafar Dilukshan
  19. Ajith Karunatilaka
  20. Madushanka Nishan Dharmaweera
  21. Arvind Rajan
  22. Teoh Boon Ean
  23. Koh Keng Huat
  24. Kee Chea Yau
  25. Sok Hong Kuan

This article was adapted from Monash University Malaysia's website, www.monash.edu.my